CrimeTally

Hope Mills Police Department, North Carolina

The reported crime rate for this police agency, from FBI data, with the math shown. It can't say whether Hope Mills is safe: it says what the agency reported, and for how many months.

Reported to the FBIHope Mills Police Department, North Carolina · 2025

Violent crime

No rate for 2025

The FBI has no reports of violent crime from Hope Mills Police Department for 2025.

0 of 12 months reported

Property crime

No rate for 2025

The FBI has no reports of property crime from Hope Mills Police Department for 2025.

0 of 12 months reported

These are crimes reported to police and passed on to the FBI. It is not all crime, and it is not the risk to any one person, street or neighborhood.

Reported offenses in 2025

OffenseReportedPer 100,000
Violent crimeNot reported—
Murder and nonnegligent manslaughterNot reported—
RapeNot reported—
RobberyNot reported—
Aggravated assaultNot reported—
Property crimeNot reported—
BurglaryNot reported—
Larceny-theftNot reported—
Motor vehicle theftNot reported—
ArsonNot reported—

Violent crime is the FBI's total of murder, rape, robbery and aggravated assault. Property crime is its total of burglary, larceny-theft and motor vehicle theft. Arson is counted separately and is in neither total.

Every year on file, 2015 to 2025

YearPopulationViolent · rateProperty · rateMonths
202518,173Not reportedNot reported
0 of 12
202418,03069 in 7 of 12 months380 in 7 of 12 months
7 of 12
202317,83875 · 420.5641 · 3,593.5
12 of 12
202217,84379 · 442.8666 · 3,732.6
12 of 12
202115,914107 · 672.4642 · 4,034.2
12 of 12
202015,92465 · 408.2712 · 4,471.2
12 of 12
201915,878110 · 692.8776 · 4,887.3
12 of 12
201816,219109 · 672.1681 · 4,198.8
12 of 12
201716,325108 · 661.6809 · 4,955.6
12 of 12
201616,26863 · 387.3789 · 4,850.0
12 of 12
201516,46678 · 473.7940 · 5,708.7
12 of 12

Each cell is the number of crimes reported, then the rate per 100,000 people, and the strokes are the monthly reports the FBI holds for that year. Population is the FBI's figure for the area this agency polices, which can differ from a city or county's census count. A month counts as reported if the agency sent the FBI anything for it, so a sharp drop in a single year can mean incomplete reporting and not less crime. The FBI keeps updating its data, so these counts can differ a little from its printed yearly tables.

Compare Hope Mills Police Department with another agency · Has its rate gone up or down since 2015?

About this agency

How this is worked out

A reported crime rate is the number of crimes an agency reported to the FBI in a calendar year, divided by the population the FBI lists for that agency, times 100,000. CrimeTally shows a rate only when the agency reported all 12 months. It never fills a missing month with an estimate, and it does not rank agencies. Read the full method and its limits.

Source: FBI Crime Data Explorer, data as refreshed by the FBI in September 2026. You can look this agency up there by name to check every figure on this page.

Informational only, not professional advice. A rate for a police agency says nothing certain about any one home, street or school.

Questions people ask

Is Hope Mills safe?

This page can't say. It shows how many crimes Hope Mills Police Department reported to the FBI, the number of people it serves and the rate that works out to. A reported crime rate counts only crimes that were reported to police and passed to the FBI, and it describes the whole area the agency polices, not any one home, street or neighborhood. The FBI warns against using its data to rank or grade places.

Is crime in Hope Mills going up or down?

Compare this agency with its own past: CrimeTally's Crime Trend tool sets any two years from 2015 on side by side, with both counts and populations, and says when the agency switched reporting systems in between. Where the FBI's monthly releases hold months of the current year, this page shows them as counts against the same months of the year before, never as a rate.

Why doesn't this match Hope Mills Police Department's own crime numbers?

An agency's own dashboard or annual report can define, count and date crimes differently from what it sends the FBI: the FBI's categories, its rule for counting several offenses in one incident, calendar versus fiscal years, later revisions, and the population base all differ. Both figures can be right. CrimeTally shows only what the FBI holds, so every number here can be checked in the FBI's Crime Data Explorer.

How much crime is never reported to police?

Most of it, for some offenses. In the Bureau of Justice Statistics' National Crime Victimization Survey, 11.2 of every 23.3 violent victimizations per 1,000 people age 12 or older were reported to police in 2024, and in 2020 to 2023 about 25% of property victimizations in urban areas were reported. A reported crime rate measures what reached the police, not what happened.